Asian Games

The Asian Games, officially recognized as Asiad, is a multi-sport event held every four years among athletes from all over the Asia.

The Games are keeping pace by Asian Games Federation (AGF) since the first Games in New Delhi, India until 1978 Games and commenced by Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) since 1982 after the dissolved of Asian Games Federation. The Games are recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and are described as the second largest multi-sport event after the Olympic Games. Thailand has hosted four Asian Games, additional than any other nation, after twice secured the Games from the crisis.

In the history, only nine nations have already hosted at least one Asian Games. 46 nations already participated in the Games, this comprise Israel, which barred being part of the Games since their last participation in 1974.

Before Asian Games held, that is a game known as Far Eastern Games that formed in 1912 from Empire of Japan, the Philippine Islands and China. The first games were held in Manila in 1913 until 1934 for ten editions. However, owing to the second Sino-Japanese War in 1934, and insist to include Manchu Empire as part of the Games nation, China announced their withdrawal from the Games. The Games scheduled for 1938 was cancelled and it is discontinued afterwards.

That is another games were held in New Delhi, India in 1934, known as West Asian Games with contribution from India, Ceylon, Afghanistan and Pakistan. The Games was scheduled for another edition in 1938, but was cancelled due to World War II. The 2010 Asian Games, also known as the XVI Asiad, are scheduled to take place in Guangzhou, China from November 12 to November 27, 2010. Guangzhou is the second city in China to host the Games after Beijing in 1990. A total of 476 proceedings in 42 sports will be contested by athletes, making it the largest event in history of the Games. It will also be the last one to have accessible such big events, as the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) has enforced new hosting rules for future games, beginning with the 2014 Games.