Australian Open Tennis

The Australian Open is one of the most renowned first Grand Slam event to be held each year in January.

The opening tournament took place in 1905 when it was played on the grass courts of Kooyong. Alike to the other Grand Slam tournaments, the events has men's and women's singles competitions; men's, women's, and mixed doubles; and junior's and master's competitions. Being the only Grand Slam event that features indoor play, Australia Open has grown in stature and size, with each passing year.

Australian Open Tennis Championships

In 1905, the year in which Australian Open was commenced; previously the tournament was contested on grass. The trend continued to remain in vogue till 1987.

It was only in 1988 that the contest came to be held on hard courts. Mats Wilander is the single male player to have won Australian Open on both grass and hard courts. Currently, two main courts are used in the tournament, namely Rod Laver Arena and Hisense Arena, both of them having retractable roofs that can be close in case of rain or excessive heat. At present time, Australian Open has been organized in five Australian and two New Zealand cities. While most of the times the event was take place at Melbourne, the other cities that staged the tournament were Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth, Christchurch and Hastings.

It was only in 1972 that the National Tennis Body takes decision to give the Australian Open, a permanent home. Melbourne was chosen as the ideal destination, as it had given the very much support to the tournament over the years.