Azlan Shah Cup Hockey

Azlan Shah Cup Hockey is the annual hockey tournament held in Malaysia. It has first played in 1983.

The tournament became the annual event after 1998. The tournament has named after the ninth Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, and an avid fan of field hockey. The games popularity has grown fast. The Azlan Shah international tournament provides a shining insight into the culture of continental hockey. The event symbolizes today the systematization in organizing an annual competition for the best outfits in the world of competitive hockey, apart from the sophistication acquired over the years to be labeled as among the major events in the international calendar.

Azlan Shah Cup History
The Azlan Shah Cup has organized every year. The first Azlan Shah tournament has won by the Australia in 1983 against Pakistan. India has won five titles in 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009, 2010 and Australia has also won the Azlan Shah title five times in 1983, 1998, 2004, 2005 and 2007 in 10 appearances. Pakistan has the unique distinction of taking part 14 times won three titles in 1999, 2000, 2003. Germany won two titles in 1987, 2001. Korea also won 2 titles in 1996, 2010. Argentina, England and Netherland have won each title in 2008, 1994 and 2006 separately. Malaysia has participated in all tournaments but they have not won the title.

The Current winner of 19th edition of Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2010 is India and Korea both due to bad weather. This is the 5th title for India and 2nd for Korea of 2010 Azlan shah cup and since the beginning of the Azlan Shah Cup, this is the first time that teams have been declared joint champions.