French Open Tennis

The first French open was played in 1891, and the tournament has since evolved into one of the four Grand Slams.

The French Open, firstly called the "Internationaux de France" is a professional tennis event played on outdoor red clay courts in Paris, France at the Stade Roland Garros. It was called the French Championships, in the starting, entry was open only to members of French tennis clubs; it was opened to worldwide players in 1925. It is one of the most esteemed events in tennis world.

French Open Tennis

The French open has a prestigious and long history, which start in 1891, as the Championat de France International de Tennis.

It's famous for being the world's best clay court tennis tournament, and thus one of the most esteemed events in tennis. The big diversity between the French Open's clay court and other Grand Slam surfaces types, such as Wimbledon's grass courts, creates a major difference in playing way. Every type of court suits dissimilar players, and some professionals have evolved to be successful on one type, but fare less well on another type. It is measured to be the most physically demanding tennis tournament in the world.

The French Open tennis championship has undergone a number of changes over the last 50 years. In the year 1968, it became the primary of the Grand Slam tournaments to allow proficient and amateur players similar to compete - hence the name "open". It also started new awards in addition to the main prize, such as Prix Orange for the press-friendly player, Prix Citron for the player with the strongest personality and character, and Prix Bourgeon for the tennis player revelation of the year. And in March 2007, the French Open declared that it would offer equal prize money for both men and women in all rounds, for the first time ever.