ICE Hockey World Cup

The ICE Hockey World Championships are the yearly tournament. It is organized by International Ice Hockey Federation.

IIHF has founded in 1908. First time the tournament was held in 1920. The first Ice Hockey Championship was organized in 1930 as first individual event. Ice hockey has played in an ice rink, about 190 by 85 feet. The game was played with 6 players at single side on the ice at a time, in three periods of 20 minutes; while this can be reduced for youth competitions. The? objective has to score goals by hitting th?e puck past the goalkeeper. There are 16 teams in top division, 12 in division first, 12 in division two and 9 in third division. The current champion is Czech Republic held in 2010 at Montreal, Canada.

ICE Hockey World Cup History

The IIHF had considered the ice hockey tournament first held at the 1920 Summer Olympics to be the first Ice Hockey World Championship. It was organized by a committee of future IIHF president Paul Loicq. The tournament was played from 23rd April to 29th April 1920. There are seven teams participated as Canada, Czechoslovakia, United States, Switzerland, Sweden, France and Belgium. Canada was the champion of that tournament having won the gold medal, outscoring opponents 27-1. The United States and Czechoslovakia was won the silver and bronze medal respectively.

The first world championship was organized individually in 1930 at Chamonix, France. Canada was won the gold medal defeated Germany. Germany and Switzerland had won the silver and bronze respectively. Canada was the first leading team, winning the tournament 12 times between 1930 and 1952. The Soviet Union first participated in 1954 and soon became competitors with Canada. From 1963 to 1991, the Soviet Union was the leading team, winning 20 championships. Russia first participated in the championship in 1992 and the Czech Republic and Slovakia started to play in 1993. In 2000, the competition became more open as the "big seven" teams - Sweden, Canada, Czech Republic, Russia, Finland, United States and Slovakia became more consistently. The 2010 ICE Hockey World Championship was held in Cologne, Mannheim and Gelsenkirchen, Germany. The Czech Republic was the winner with their sixth championship.