Pro Football

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is the hall of fame of specialized football in the United States with an importance on the National Football League (NFL).

It opened in Canton, Ohio, on September 7, 1963, with 17 charter inductees. Through 2008, all but one of the player inductees played a quantity of part of their pro career in the NFL (the lone exception is Buffalo Bills guard Billy Shaw, who played his entire career in the American Football League (AFL) prior to the 1970 AFL-NFL merger). The Chicago Bears have the nearly all Hall of Famers in the league at 26.

Pro Football History

Canton, Ohio was selected as the setting for the Hall of Fame for three reasons: First, the NFL, then known as the American Professional Football Association, was founded in Canton in 1920.

Second, the now-defunct Canton Bulldogs were a winning NFL team based in Canton all through the first few years of the league. And finally, the group of people of Canton successfully lobbied the NFL to have the Hall built in their city. Groundbreaking for the structure was held on August 11, 1962. The inventive building contained just two rooms, and 19,000 square feet (1,800 m2) of center space. The Hall opened in 1963. In April 1970, groundbreaking occurred for the original of many expansions. This first extension cost $620,000, and was completed in May 1971.

The size was amplified to 34,000 square feet (3,200 m2) by adding another room. The pro shop opened with this growth. This was also an significant milestone for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as yearly attendance passed the 200,000 mark for the first time, at least in some part due to the augment in popularity of Pro Football caused by the advent of the American Football League and its accomplishment in the final two AFL-NFL World Championship games.