Wimbledon Championships

Wimbledon is the most oldest and esteemed event in the world of tennis. This vital championship take place in June/July, is the third Grand Slam tournament played every year.

preceded by the Australian Open and French Open, and followed by the US Open. The opening tennis championship at Wimbledon was held in 1877. In starting it had only for male amateur participants. In 1884 separate women's singles and men's doubles competition were added. By the turn of the century Wimbledon had become an increasingly very popular international tennis tournament. Wimbledon is a suburb located in south west London, part of the London Borough of Merton and located 7 miles (11.3 km) from Charing Cross.

Wimbledon has been globally known as the birth place of the Wimbledon Tennis Championships.

One exclusive feature of Wimbledon is that all 19 courts used in the tournament are composed purely of rye grass, which gives the tennis balls a different speed and minor bounce that favors serve and volley players such as Rod Laver, Boris Becker, Stefan Edberg, John McEnroe and Pete Sampras all of whom are previous Wimbledon champions. Sampras, a superb serve and volley master holds the record for maximum Wimbledon championships ever with seven.

The one exception is Bjorn Borg, a recognized baseline specialist, who won Wimbledon five consecutive years from 1976 to 1980. Among the women, Martina Navratilova, another serve-and-volleyer, has won Wimbledon a record nine times. One other unique thing that makes Wimbledon special is the presence of England's royalty. It was an earlier tradition at Wimbledon for players to bow or curtsy before the Royal family which seated at the Royal Box upon entering or leaving the center court, but this practice was halted in 2003.